University of Alcalá

The University of Alcalá is the second oldest university in Spain. It was founded in 1499 and during its long existence it counted some of the most prominent figures of the Spanish culture amongst students and scholars. The most important literary prize in Spanish language, the Premio Cervantes, is awarded yearly by the King of Spain in the Great Hall of the University of Alcalá.

In 1998, the University of Alcalá was declared a World Heritage Site, being the first city in the world to be designed and built solely as the seat of a university. Alcalá is situated only 20 minutes away from Madrid and is an excellent starting point for discovering some of the most attractive cities in central Spain, such as Ávila, Segovia or Toledo.


Associate Universities

For more information, please contact us at

Télécom École de Management

European Humanities University


University of Lodz

University of Lorraine

University of Novi Sad

Vytautas Magnus University

University of Aveiro

Instituto Politécnico de Lisboa


University of Patras

University "Kadri Zeka" Gjilan

University of Agder

University of Orléans

Cyprus University of Technology

Instituto Politécnico
de Coimbra

HAN University of Applied Sciences

Politehnica University Timisoara

Oslo Metropolitan University

Universidade de Vigo

University of Cagliari

RUDN University

Selçuk University

Izmir Institute of Technology

Transilvania University of Brasov

Hasselt University

University of Parma

University of Split

University of Catania

University Jaume I

Birmingham City University


Örebro University

University of Maribor

Institute of Technology, Sligo

University Institute of Lisbon

Mendel University in Brno

University of Limerick

University of Hamburg

University of Lausanne

Erciyes University

University of Oviedo

University of Piemonte Orientale

University of Bremen

University of Žilina

University of Murcia