Steering Committee

Steering Committee

What does the Steering Committee do?

Under the aegis of the Erasmus Without Paper project (EWP), Europe's most prominent University Networks have committed to taking the lead on the Open Source University Alliance. By composing the Steering Committee, the following organisations commit to furthering the idea of a European digital Higher Education landscape where institutions contribute to a common goal contribute with their own resources to modernise Higher Education. During the initial phase of the Open Source University Alliance, the Steering Committee will be responsible for engaging Higher Education Institutions and building a strong pool of committed Alliance members. In a second phase, the Steering Committee will discuss the usage and policies of the repository and develop the Alliance's future strategy.

The following partners are included in the Steering Committee:

European University Foundation

The European University Foundation (EUF) is a University Network that aims to accelerate the modernisation of the European Higher Education Area. Its members are public universities that share a culture of academic excellence and innovation. Together, they are at the fore-front of European policy making for over a decade, promoting high quality mobility and a strong European Higher Education Area. As leader of the Erasmus Without Paper project, the EUF is committed to creating a common European digital Higher Education space that will drive innovation.

Coimbra Group

Founded in 1985 and formally constituted by Charter in 1987, the Coimbra Group is an association of long-established European comprehensive, multidisciplinary research universities of high international standard committed to creating special academic and cultural ties in order to promote, for the benefit of its members, internationalization, academic collaboration, excellence in learning and research, and service to society. It is also the purpose of the Coimbra Group to influence European education and research policy and to develop best practice through the mutual exchange of experience.


UNICA - Network of Universities from the Capitals of Europe was founded in 1990. It is currently made up of 46 universities from 35 capital cities of Europe, combining over 150,000 university staff and 1.800,000 students. The activities of the Network are guided by the principles expressed in its Mission & Vision.

UNICA provides a forum for its Members to reflect on the latest developments and demands of strategic change in university research, education and administration. To achieve its aims, UNICA carries out member-driven activities, the content, format, and frequency of which depend substantially on UNICA Member Universities’ engagement and interest.

UNICA is also active in the field of European projects, both as coordinator and partner.


The SGroup European Universities' Network (SGroup) is a non-for-profit  founded in 1989 composed of over 30 higher education institutions from 15 European countries. The SGroup is a dynamic network with over 25 years of experience in university collaboration within Europe and beyond to foster university excellence in education and research and to promote continuous adaptation to educational and societal needs in a creative and innovative way. Its mission is based on four core areas of co-operation – internationalisation strategy, academic collaboration, academic mobility, and transfer of knowledge.

Compostela Group

The Compostela Group of Universities is a non-profit international association aimed at fostering cooperation and promoting dialogue in all fields related to higher education.

An initiative of the University of Santiago de Compostela, the CGU currently has more than 70 members worldwide, who are working together in the belief that diversity is a keyword in the profile of 21st century universities.

In our common journey, we share the path to knowledge and the goal of improving higher education for a better society.


The primary objective of the Young European Research Universities Network (YERUN) is to strengthen and develop cooperation in the area of scientific research, academic education and service to society among a cluster of highly -ranked, young universities in Europe on an equal basis and for their common benefit.

Groningen Declaration

The Groningen Declaration seeks common ground in best serving the academic and professional mobility needs of citizens world wide by bringing together key stakeholders in the Digital Student Data Ecosystem.

Citizens world wide should be able to consult and share their authentic educational data with whomever they want, whenever they want, wherever they are. The GDN makes Digital Student Data Portability happen.